Not an arachnid, but can anybody tell me what this insect is???

danielthelefty

Arachnopeon
I found it in the leaves and thought it was the coolest bug I've ever seen in my life... I've been dying to know what it is!

Any help is appreciated :)

I need to learn more about insects...

And sorry for the artsiness and darkness of them. I am a photographer, after all (at least I pretend to be...).

Thanks!

Attachments

skinheaddave

SkorpionSkin
Arachnosupporter +
That is an assassin bug of some description. Family Reduviidae. Note the elongate head, presence of occili, piercing beak and the way the abdoment is extended upwards beyond the wings. I'm sure there is more to it, but my field guide is no doubt stuffed away under a random pile of crap right now.

Cheers,
Dave

Tim Benzedrine

Prankster Possum
Old Timer
Right, an assassin bug. Specifically an Arilus cristatus, also known as a wheel bug. Just for the record I knew it as a wheel bug, but had to look up the scientific name.

sick4x4

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
and im not sure u should have it on ur finger????

zinto

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Assassin bugs only feed on invertebrates, Kissing bugs feed on vertebrates. I'm pretty sure about this anyway, correct me if I'm wrong.

Waspman

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
zinto said:
Assassin bugs only feed on invertebrates, Kissing bugs feed on vertebrates. I'm pretty sure about this anyway, correct me if I'm wrong.
You're right, but sick4x4 was most likely referring to the extremely painful jab these guys can give ya!

Very nice pics!

LongDucDong

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Most definitely an assassin bug, that one there is commonly known as a wheel bug, Latin name is Arilus cristatus. Very nice find! Ive been looking for these for awhile!!! But they dont extend this far north I believe. :( And I wouldnt handle those if I were you, they can deliver a horribly painful bite! :eek:

danielthelefty

Arachnopeon
LongDucDong said: