Substrate Change

mindlessvw

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I am going to attempt a full cage cleaning and I have never done this before. I am a bit new to this particular hobby. I have said before I deal with venomous snakes but not these crazy little (well, not so little) pedes. Does anyone have any suggestions or helpful hints that may make this go a bit smoother. He is about 8 or so inches so i am dealing with a hefty one...any imput is appreciated!

Tony92

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
When my Scolopendra subspinipes china adults cage setup required cleaning due to mite infestation, I put the tank in the bath, with plughole sealed, & used a chopstick to scoop the pede out, taking extreme care it didn't run up the stick, then I used a 1litre plastic coke bottle, with the end bottom piece cut off 2 inches from base, scooped the pede into this, then turned the bottom cut off piece around so it was inside out & used this to seal the base of the bottle, then I put the whole tank inside our microwave, which fortunately is a big micro, so tank could fit in, but not rotate, microwaved it for 10 min, turning the tank every few min, I then gave the substrate a good stir around, & left it to cool down over an hour or so, it killed everything living in the substrate, & allowed me to give the tank glass a good clean inside & out, I popped the pede back in, which fortunately was mite free upon inspection, & its been fine since, I make it a habit to remove ANY prey leftovers immidiately now, hoping to prevent further breakouts.
Obviously, if your tank is to big to pop in micro, still do the above, but then remove all substrate, & give the tank in a clean while in bath with running hot water, then when totally clean, replace with fresh clean substrate.