My big bullfrog

arachnocat

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
I posted these questions on a frog forum, but I thought there might be some frog keepers lurking around here too who could give me some advice :)

I bought a large bullfrog at the petstore this weekend. The frogs were being kept in really bad conditions. They were crammed together in a small tank with gravel instead of soft potting soil. A lot of the frogs had wounds on them, some on the whole top of their head. I didn't think the pet store should be selling them in this condition and I felt really bad for them. I've had my eye on this guy for a week so I decided to buy him, hoping he might be able to recover.
This is my first time keeping a frog and I wanted to ask some knowlegeable people if he'll be ok. The people at the pet store just sort of shrugged when I asked what was wrong with the frogs. I'm really hoping it's not the red leg disease I've read about and that the wounds are just from being shipped to the petstore or living in cramped conditions. Here's a pic of froggys face. Do you think it's a bad infection or just scars? I couldn't find too much info online. Also, can you tell if this frog is male or female? I've read you can tell by comparing the eye to the ear but I couldn't find pics.

Also, is there any specific care I can give the frog for his wounds or should I just let him recover on his own?

Any advice would be much appreciated. I'll try to post some better pics (showing how huge this froggy is!) a bit later. I've been trying to leave him alone to heal and get used to his new habitat. Although I had quite a time chasing him around the house after I took this pic last night. lol. They sure are fast for thier size! :eek:

AneesasMuse

Arachnoangel
Old Timer