WHAT are the largest tarantulas?

penngomifan

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
hi my name is mike and im fairly new to this hobby....... lie actually im not, i used to have over 40 tarantuals, my biggest was a king boon........ she was 8 1/2 inches ........ she was the coolest thing sence television......... but yeh i got rid of them all...... 4 years later i want a few more........ my question is this....... what tarantula species are the biggest?? which ones get the biggest and heaveist? from what i read they are these right here

Theraphosa blondi
Theraphosa apophysis
Lasiodora klugi
pseudotherathosa apophysis

?? is that about right?? and what is the pseudotherathosa apophysis it looks like the name of it is almost the same as Theraphosa apophysis??? are they the same or diffrent??? anyways i know this question has been asked a million times but im just wondering so i know what ones i wanna get??? im thinking of gettting a Lasiodora parahybana i heard and read thoughs can get pretty big.......... o yeh what are some dealers websights?? i live in southern california........ anyways thx guys........ gread board.........

Skypainter

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Pseudotheraphosa apophysis and Theraphosa apophysis are the same thing. Them and Theraphosa blondi are the biggest and heaviest. The males have the largest legspans and the females have the bulk, weighing in at up to six ounces from what I have read.

penngomifan

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
o ok thought so...... thx for the reply......... alright well from all the thread searching i been doing i was kinda thinking thoughs two were along with the klugi...... but that is to much money for me now :)

james41777

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Not the biggest tarantula, but in arboreals...
p.rufilata and p.ornata are really long ,but not fat :)
about 8"+
plus they show beautiful colours!

V3i HoN6

Arachnopeon
Not the biggest tarantula, but in arboreals...
p.rufilata and p.ornata are really long ,but not fat :)
about 8"+