Is this normal?

Lampost_Stealer

Arachnopeon
Hi! im new to all this!, I recently got given to me a Pandinus cavimanus so i did abit of research and looked up on here and found out that they like to burrow, so i decided to rearrange the tank and make a false bottom, I did that at least 5 days ago and i havent seen him surface since, At 1st i thought he was stuck so we moved the tank to save him but when we got the tank down he'd moved so i know hes not stuck, and hes been eating the crickets ive been giving him, Just abit worried hes not come out? Ive got some pictures of the tank before and after, Any advice or info? Thanks Phil
How I got him
[/IMG]

After i finished
[/IMG]

Brian S

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
If it stays hid you must be doing something right. I would worry more if it was out in the open all the time

Mesx

Arachnopeon
One thing - not sure that it matters tho.
Your substrate is in contact with the water in your false bottom because you used rather large rocks meaning it can soak the water.

Im sure some of the experts can comment on that? :)

BadBikaDamo

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Set-up looks pretty cool, though I would stick the heat mat onto the back of the tank rather than underneath it, just in case it burrows right down onto it and gets a bit hot. Certainly no problems with the humidity:D

Hope it does well.

Damo.

P.S. Expect not to see a happy scorp for days at a time.

dairy

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Your substrate is in contact with the water in your false bottom because you used rather large rocks meaning it can soak the water.

Anyone have any comment on this? I recently setup my first ever tank and with a false bottom. I used large-ish rocks and my substrate is also in direct contact with the water in some areas. Figured it didn't matter but it really wouldn't take much to add some smaller gravel to fill the gaps.

Edit: Just noticed the post date/time :8o ...guess a couple of minutes is not enough time to get a reply

Last edited:

ZooRex