What a way to start the hobby !

imjim

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I've ordered some tarantulas listed in another thread.

But today I went out for supplies and found a Chilean Rose Hair with egg sack. The egg sack is about the size of a quarter (US 25 cent piece)

What are the chances of it hatching (if thats the correct terminology)

Talkenlate04

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
I have no experience period.
Well then your chances just went down a little bit, not much though, most of this is luck.

Here is the part that is going to be hard. You have no idea when the sac was laid. In addition to not knowing when the sac was laid this also means you have no idea when it's going to hatch. So, your going to have to keep an eye on her and the sac. So long as the mother is tending to it you are ok.

Dry setup, water dish, temps in the mid to upper 70's. And from there all you have to do is wait it out. Try not to bother her to much ether, set the tank somewhere quiet.

imjim

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Thank You for your help. I hope all goes well for her. . .

No matter what happens she won my heart. As the guy was putting her in the box she began grabbing and rolling the egg sac beneath her.

Once I setup the terrarium at home I put the egg sac in first then her. She immediatley went to it and stays over it with one leg, foot on it at all times. She's not aggressive at all rather she just stays with the egg sac waiting. Its really an amazing sight and experience for me as a first time tarantula keeper.

Well then your chances just went down a little bit, not much though, most of this is luck.

Here is the part that is going to be hard. You have no idea when the sac was laid. In addition to not knowing when the sac was laid this also means you have no idea when it's going to hatch. So, your going to have to keep an eye on her and the sac. So long as the mother is tending to it you are ok.