Hottentotta judaicus - Communal Setup

Fauxshow

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
This is my first attempt at an honest-to-goodness enclosure. I still have a lot to learn, any suggestions re: this species or other desert species would be greatly appreciated!

16 Hottentotta judaicus (unsexed, but 1-2 appear to be gravid)
122x46x33 cm (48x18x13 in) acrylic
4 x 100W IR bulbs (w/ intensity control)
28/33C (82/92F) night/day w/ photo-period
1.5 cm peat, 2 cm sand top-layer

Female?

Feeding:

This one prefers dark meat, I guess:

Dunked:

Crowding: (not an issue, apparently)

Spermatophores: (found 4 in one night)

I've learned a lot in the past 2 months. A HUGE pound-pound to all my scorpion nerds!

kupo969

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
You have an AWESOME setup, can't be any better. So far it looks like they're doing more than fine. Good luck!

Mr. Quick

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Your pics are so good, it looks like your scorpions actually pose for the camera....

Fauxshow

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Thanks for all the comments!!! I haven't been in the hobby long enough to have a favorite species but these guys have set the bar pretty high. Even my wife is down with them...and she used to HATE scorpions. Besides something nice to look at, the goal is to get babies, babies, and more babies! {D :D

Trexer

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Thats totally awesome mate :), lovely set ups and nice scorpions :), i wish my emperor was a bit more active, i never see him unless i lift up the peice of cork he lives under lol

Fauxshow

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
great set-up and beautiful scorp's, do u keep those lights on 24/7 ?
Thanks man! The 2 outer lights switch off at night. They tend to follow the heat...in this case, right over the flat-rock at night *wink wink* ... if you get my drift.

~Abyss~

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Nice set-up I cant see them on this computer but I took a look at them from school earlier. Awesome species. I admit I am a bit jealous.
Eddy

mkieff

Arachnoknight
Old Timer