need some advice to get rid of mites on desert scorpions

Koh_

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Hi Guys
i actually made a thread about same thing before.
but i didn't get much answers about it.
i tried to search here and found my friend 'quiz' also had the same problem as mine.
here is the link .

http://www.arachnoboards.com/ab/showthread.php?t=80692&highlight=desert+mites

one of my female a.australis i've been keeping for about 2 yrs has same problem as well as another australis i just got from my friend here in Canada.
well he didn't tell me that his scorpions have mites problem. Maybe he never tried to look them really close..
anyway, i hate seeing those little suckers and i really would like to help the scorpions. Mine is not as bad as Quiz's though.

i also tried to brush them up but those guys love clinging to my australis.
i don't wanna disturb my scorpions because i feel sorry. :mad: :mad: .

i hope it's not the best way to kill them all.
any advice please ?!

p.s please don't mention about humidity. i keep all my desert scorpions with low humidity. the mites never die!!!!!!!

rasputin

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
Step one) Pull the scorps and take a small, soft bristled art brush and lightly brus them off. Then rehouse your scorps individually with no substrate (quarantine). Keep them in isolation until you don't see any more mites, offering them food once a week and pulling any scraps immediately. Offer them water in the form of water crystals (since water crystals dry out and are therefore not as conducive to the thriving of mites).

Step two) take all your sand and bake it in the oven at something like 450f for 15-30mins (it's called "dry heat" sterilization, not as great as a steam clave but it's very effective).

Step three) soak and then thoroughly clean enclosure(s) with hot water (do not use any soaps or cleaners as they can leave a harmfull residue).