What to feed?

dizzylizzy

Arachnopeon
We just bought this wee little b.smithi yesterday, I`d like to know how often and what to feed it, we have some really small crickets, whats the best way to go about this? Thanks for any and all info.

Scoolman

Arachnolord
Old Timer
My first four G pulchra were that size when I got them in December. I fed them 1cm (.5")crickets. They even managed slightly larger ones on occasion. I fed them about 4 crickets/week at a rate of about one every couple days. Keep in mind I am power feeding to get them to the juvenile stage a little quicker. They have molted twice and are now about 2.5".

Slappys_g1rl06

Arachnopeon
I'm not too experienced here yet but when I bought my G. pulchripes and even my GBB right now, they both were/are that size and they could eat some good sized crickets! Like Scoolman said, I stuck to no bigger than 1/2" crickets and they managed to tackle them just fine. My friend I bought my t's from recommended only feeding them bugs that are roughly the size of their opisthosoma to be safe. I only feed my guys about one or two a week. Hope that helps!! :)

Teal

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
I was expecting a TINY sling... but a sling that is quarter-sized can easily take down a .5" cricket! I would recommend taking the back legs off the cricket, just for safety... but 2-3 week old crickets should be just fine :)

SDiego

Arachnosquire
If you have small crickets, just toss them in there. He'll eat them. Anything that's just a little smaller than him will be fine. You can also kill a larger cricket and stick it in there too. Spiderlings will scavenge recently killed insects if you stick them in there.

Link

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
It also looks like it's going to molt soon.

dizzylizzy

Arachnopeon
Thank you all for your help, much appreciate it. Very new to all this, We`hooked {D
Link, how can you tell its going to molt soon?

Scoolman

Arachnolord
Old Timer