Euthanization

becca81

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
I've know we've been discussing the death of Ts lately, but I recall reading somewhere that many people euthanize their Ts when they are sick, very old, etc.

This includes:
  • Putting them in the freezer
  • Putting them in alcohol
  • Feeding them to stronger, younger spiders or letting them be muched by a female during mating
  • Stepping on them :eek:

I'm curious as to how people feel about this. Do you euthanize your Ts or let them die a natural (without assistance) death?

For people who would say no to euthanization, how would you deal with an issue such as parasites/nematode worms/etc.?

mebebraz

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Ive been keeping t's for about ten years now, never have I once deliberatly killed a t, natural death here.

WayneT

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Same here, natural causes. If I was forced into it, it would be the fridge.

mouse

Arachnolord
Old Timer
well i had one tarantula that was bad off (it got stuck in it's molt, legs were free but the rest of it was stuck). i did everything i could but nothing worked, i thought about the freezer to stop the suffering, asked here about what to do. but i just couldn't kill it...so i shipped it to somebody else in hope it would survive. call me chicken i i just can't kill anything .

dianne

USMuscle9403

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Never killed a T, but when they finally passed I'd place them in alcohol.

Mattyb

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Natural death for me....i couldn't kill a beautiful creature.

-Mattyb

Joanie

Arachnoknight
Old Timer