Calcium Sand Good for my T?

BigWeezy911

Arachnopeon
Im new to the hobby and maybe should have done a little more research...Anyway i just got a Stripe knee spider and the guy at the store told me to get sand, but while reading this site most people say to use soil or peat moss. I got the sand and a cave with a few sticks in it. Do you guys thinks the sand will be alright for him???

One more thing it about 60 degrees, and i dont have a heat pad, do you think it will survive untill it gets warmer outside? Thanks

Frazier_05

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hi welcome to the hobby! I've personally never used it, but I have always heard to not use it. I just use the coconut bark that comes in the tightly packed bricks. It works wonders for me. Just a thought. Congrats on the seemanni!

Brett

PA7R1CK

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I never would recommend using any sand for any tarantula. The small particles can get caught in their book lungs. Just get some bed-a-beast in the bricks, it works best and can be used for all tarantula species.

ShadowSpectrum

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Sand is generally too abrasive for tarantulas and can get caught in their joints and booklungs, which is not good. Also, unless it wetted, pat down tight, and then allowed to dry, it won't make a good burrowing substrate and Aphonopelma seemanni (Stripe knees) will appreciate the burrowing space. Just use peat, potting soil, coconut fiber, or any combination of those and you'll be fine.

slingshot71

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
I would definitely not use sand for all the reasons mentioned above. I use the compressed coconut fiber for all my T's and it works great.

As for the temperature, it will probably be OK, but I would recommend 65 degrees or higher. That being said, please don't put your T in direct sunlight or under any type of direct heat lamp, as the drying effect would be more dangerous to your T than the low temps.

Last edited:

Whiskeypunk

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
PA7R1CK said: