tarantula rescued from frying pan in Cambodia

Crunchie

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
A family friend of ours is in Cambodia for a few years and they eat tarantulas there deep fried. Now she went and bought a live one from a take away place for $0.14 but when she got home she noticed it has no fangs. I've told her to try mashing a few crickets for it and giving it lots of water in the hope that it moults soon. However we were wondering what type of tarantula it could be, I'm unsure what species are native to Cambodia. We were also wondering if there was any possibility of her being able to bring it home to the UK or would that be a total no-no?:?

EDIT: Blast I've just noticed that I posted this int he wrong section!

Alakdan

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
Though I'm no expert in Ts, I'm a scorp keeper. I think it could be H. minax.

kahoy

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
they remove the fang so that the cooks will not be bitten...

poor T's

Stylopidae

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Most likely a total no-no on bringing it home. Try stowing it in a carry-on without a container and claim ignorance when going through customs if you're caught.

The topic of this post, comibined with your choice of user name is kind of funny.

Crunchie

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
hmm yeah I never thought of that!;P

Unfortunately the tarantula died, she sent me all these photos of whole sack-fulls of tarantulas that were just about to be put in the deep fat fryer. Quite depressing and I hope it doesn't affect the wild populations too badly but then you can't really pass judgement on other peoples way of life.

Juraki

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Crunchie said:
hmm yeah I never thought of that!;P

Unfortunately the tarantula died, she sent me all these photos of whole sack-fulls of tarantulas that were just about to be put in the deep fat fryer. Quite depressing and I hope it doesn't affect the wild populations too badly but then you can't really pass judgement on other peoples way of life.