Genus/Species Pronounciation Thread

Mr.Scorpion

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I guess this would be a good thread for members to inquire how to pronounce a few names. Here is my list I am unclear of(I'll list a species and how I assume it's pronounced, then someone can correct them):

1) Chromatopelma Cyaneopubescens: "Chrome-a-ta-pell-mah Sigh-an-neo-pube-escence" ?

2) Lasiodora parahybana: "Lazz-e-o-dora pair-a-banna"?

3) Pterinochilus murinus: "Pet-tear-eeen-o-chill-us mure-in-us"?

4) Citharischius crawshayi: "Sith-are-is-key-us craww-shay-e"?

5) Psalmapoeus irminia: "Piss-all-moe-puss er-min-e-a"?

6) Poecilotheria striata: "Poke-e-low-there-e-a stree-at-a"?

7) Xenethsis(sp?) immanis: "Zenn-e-the-sis imm-an-is"?

ShadowBlade

Planeswalker
Old Timer
I'm no expert, but I'll change them to how I happen to say them. (I'm horrible at writing out pronounciations :?)

1) Chromatopelma Cyaneopubescens: "Chrome-ato-pell-mah Sigh-an-neo-pube-escence" ?

2) Lasiodora parahybana: "Lass-io-dara pair-a-hibanna"?

3) Pterinochilus murinus: "Pt-air-in-o-chill-us mure-in-us"?

4) Citharischius crawshayi: "Sith-are-is-schus craww-shay-e"?

5) Psalm(o)poeus irminia: "S-all-moe-peus ir-min-e-a"?

6) Poecilotheria striata: "Po-ecil-o-there-ia stree-at-a"?

Last edited:

musihuto

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
lol... being a bit of a geek and having taken latin in high-school for three years, when i entered the invertebrate hobby, i had a bit of an inclination to pronounce the latin names... well.. in LATIN. and also, construct plurals according to latin rather than english grammar. alas, i found there was generally confusion for instance when i said i was looking for some h. trilineati (tree-LEE-nay-AH-tee), or when i was talking about my two h. livida (LEE-vee-dah)...