Anyone keep Jerusalem Crickets (Potato Bugs)?

gzophia

Arachnoknight
Hello everyone,

I was wondering if anyone here kept Jerusalem Crickets (genera Ammopelmatus/Stenopelmatus). I know that there are some people here who have kept them in the past, but I don't know anyone who still keeps them. These insects seem to have become much more popular in the hobby lately; I now see them regularly sold online and at expos/shows.

Where I live, pretty much everyone has seen one of these monsters at some point-- Jerusalem Crickets are the biggest insects in my area. They have a pretty bad reputation here; many consider them pure nightmare fuel. I used to have a horrific phobia of them too!

I have been keeping Jerusalem Crickets since 2017 or so; that year, I found a small juvenile in my yard and decided to try my hand at husbandry. Over the years, I have kept 10 or so individuals at various stages of life, with many of the adults being sick "rescues" who wandered into my garage during rainstorms. They all seem to be of the same species and live pretty much anywhere with dirt that they can burrow in.

Here are some notes from my own personal experience:
  • I keep these insects in 0.5 to 5 gallon enclosures depending on size. I would say 2.5 gallons is the minimum for a full grown adult.
  • Jerusalem Crickets need at least 4" of stable substrate to burrow in as they are obligate fossorials. I use a mix of coco fiber and sand, but excavator clay would work too.
  • Temperatures are kept between 68F and 75F, but lower is fine. Back in 2018, I was overseas for a few weeks and my house dropped to around 55F; my adult female was in a state of hibernation when I returned but woke up fine when the temperature warmed up.
  • I don't check humidity, but I try to keep the substrate slightly moist at all times.