How to care for plants with T

Chiri

Arachnopeon
Hello, I am a newbie in the T-world, I am setting up terrarium right now, wanting to get everything I need before bringing a lil guy in. I added some plants, and was wondering how u water the plants, should I spray them instead? Or water directly on the soil? I have a growing bulb, for the light, just wondering the best way to water em with the tarantula inside? And any tips and advice would be appreciated as well, thank you!

Attachments

mack1855

Arachnoangel
Arachnosupporter +
Your thinking the bio-active enclosures.The T community is really split on if this is a good thing or a good way of creating problems down the road for both plants and animals.
The excessive moisture for the plants generally are bad news for most T,s,with some exceptions.
T,s for the most part like to dig and rearrange the enclosure constantly.Bad news for the plants.
I believe most keepers of any experience ,think the bio-active enclosures are just causing problems.
Have never done one,and don’t plan on it.I believe that’s what @Poonjab was getting at.

kingshockey

Arachnoangel
if your set on trying those type of enclosures with your t you need to seek advice from @ dorfito(hope i spelled it correct) that member has some seriously rad looking bio active set ups

Dorifto

He who moists xD
The first rule is to choose the right plants for your T, and none of them are suitable for nor the auratum, nor the pulchra. Also that enclosure it's not suitable for plants. If you are thinking to use plants, first of all, an enclosure with an excellent ventilation system is MANDATORY, or you will end up with dead plants or even worse, a dead T.

I keep two vivariums, so I know what I'm telling you. Firstly you should choose an enclosure with a good ventilation, and then start thinking about plants etc. But not before learning all about your T.