How to know if my amblypygid is thirsty or is just doing fine?

amblys

Arachnopeon
Hey so I’m new to keeping amblys (got mine a 2 days ago) and I’ve been misting the enclosure daily as you should, however I’m a little fearful that I don’t know if my ambly is drinking or not? There usually a lot of water droplets especially in the glass after misting but I’ve never seen them drink? Should I be worried and is it possible to tell if they are getting water?
I did here they got most of it from their prey but I haven’t fed them just yet planning to soon though?

MSobczak

Arachnopeon
I wouldnt worry about it, if theyre really thirsty they'll drink. They get most of their water from prey items, so its normal to not see them drink often. Just make sure their substrate doesnt dry out because they dessicate easily.

gzophia

Arachnoknight
Hey so I’m new to keeping amblys (got mine a 2 days ago) and I’ve been misting the enclosure daily as you should, however I’m a little fearful that I don’t know if my ambly is drinking or not? There usually a lot of water droplets especially in the glass after misting but I’ve never seen them drink? Should I be worried and is it possible to tell if they are getting water?
I did here they got most of it from their prey but I haven’t fed them just yet planning to soon though?
Hi there! Don't worry, just keep misting daily for a few days until your new pet settles in (avoid hitting it directly though). It will drink if it is thirsty, but odds are you won't see this happening. Many amblypygi are extremely secretive; I have a Phrynus marginemaculatus that I have never seen eating or drinking yet it is pooping everywhere and doing fine.

Yes, they get a lot of dietary moisture from prey; you can offer prekill if you'd like. Prekill is helpful for more timid amblypygi, especially after arrival, and can make life easier for the keeper.