Questions from an new Avicularia Avicularia Owner

AlmightyFaust

Arachnopeon
Hey, I'm new to the hobby. I've had my T for about two months now, but I have a several of questions based off my current experience. I'm sorry if this is a lot. Feel free to answer any of these.
  • Roughly where is my T in its life cycle? I figured its definitely not a sling nor an adult.
  • Is it overfed? I feed it a large cricket once per week, but for almost two weeks now, it seems uninterested every time. My T has only responded once to tong feeding. All other instances of feeding occurred after I leave the prey in the enclosure for a day.
  • Is there such thing as a T that is a "picky" eater despite being an opportunistic hunter in nature? I've been trying to switch to other feeders because I find crickets annoying in several ways. Currently, I have superworms. However, I know that superworms burrow and I'm afraid that my T might not be able to find it.
  • Should I be concerned about the poop on the wall? I'm well aware that the pooping is a defense mechanism, but I've never triggered that response myself. All the stains in the enclosure would just appear randomly when I check on it.
  • How do I know if a molt is imminent? Two months feels like quite some time. I haven't seen any unusual behavior aside from not eating.
  • Is this enclosure appropriate? I know that arboreals need tall enclosures, but this one is much taller than I expected.
  • Lastly, does anyone have any recommended beginner species? I think I would like to own a terrestrial species in the future, preferably low maintenance given my personal life. My T was purchased from a Petsmart before it was given to me. I know Petsmart and those type of pet stores are frowned upon in the hobby. If anyone has any recommended websites where I can purchase a T, let me know. My immediate area seems to be lacking in local reptile stores.
Anyways, thanks!
IMG_2417.JPG IMG_2416.JPG

Last edited by a moderator: