Taj Mahal of tarantula enclosures

dmattenski

Arachnopeon
So my 5yo Brachypelma boehmei (Mexican fire leg) got to a point where she would sit in the same place for days on end; I worried that she was going downhill even though they can live to 20+. So I spent an absurd number of hours, and an even more ridiculous about of money to build a new home, twice. The first time it fell apart, but I am now an expert on acrylic bonding, drilling, and bracketing. Octavia now spends her days cruising back and forth and up and down, making use of her new burrow and her two crystal water bowls. For the love of a spider, I give you my Arachnid Taj Mahal. Taj.jpg

rock

Arachnoknight
Nice 😍 I bet you find her impersonating a rock again soon enough 😂
Careful with that big drop, too, she looks like an engorged tick and would probably explode if she fell.

dmattenski

Arachnopeon
Nice 😍 I bet you find her impersonating a rock again soon enough 😂
Careful with that big drop, too, she looks like an engorged tick and would probably explode if she fell.
Only 14" top to bottom, she learned quick to walk on the branch, and discovered she can walk on walls!

rock

Arachnoknight
Only 14" top to bottom, she learned quick to walk on the branch, and discovered she can walk on walls!
Right on, I just get concerned when they’re big like that. My B hamorii has some junk in the trunk and I keep enough substrate in her tank so the fall from the lid is only about 7”.
I’m probably just being paranoid...

Wolfram1

Arachnoprince
Arachnosupporter
I will be honest, i don't think this is a suitable habitat and i would not house a spider in it as it is, but at the same time i am amazed by it. A weird combination. Certainly a sparkly palace and great building skills indeed.

My main concern here is that despite all the space you have created, it is all loose coco-fibre and i see no real burrow or proper hide anywhere. No real hiding places to be safely tucked away ether, nor enough substrate to burrow.